Jeremiah_29_v.11 by Kodi Tanner

Earlier this month (October) I came to the conclusion that I wanted to do a fast. A really serious fast. (For anyone who is not familiar with the term fasting, basically it means giving up something important to you for a period of time.) I’ve done the week long fast, where I give up TV or only listen to Christian music for a week, but I decided that I really want to test myself this time, so here it goes.

For the entire month of November I am giving up reading books, unless it is required for school or work. If you know me, you know that’s basically like cutting off my left hand (and I’m left handed). However, for this month I am going to spend all the time I would have spent reading other things focusing on reading my Bible instead. This is of course in addition to a daily Bible study. And that’s not all…during the second week of November I’m giving up everything. That means TV shows, music, Facebook, if it distracts me from God it is going for a week. I hope that, being the quick reader that I am, I will be able to finish the whole Bible that way–reading some from the Old and some from the New Testament each day.

I feel that this is something I need to do in order to allow God to fill my life the way he wants to. By saying no for a month, I hope it will make it easier to say no later when things are trying to distract me. At the end of this I hope to have one more read through of the Bible under my belt. And even if that doesn’t happen I will at least be well-rested and ahead in my schoolwork. I think it’s a good bargain–which is why I’m writing this.

This is not me trying to boast, I could just easily fail as succeed. But I wanted to challenge others to join me. It doesn’t have to be the same as mine, I know not everyone is the prolific reader that I tend to be. Just choose something that you know competes for your time with God and give it up from November 1-30, replace that time with Bible time. If you want you can try like me to read the Bible in one month–or you could make it a little narrower. Make it something you feel you have a shot at achieving and believe you can do it! If you want you can drop me a note to let me know that you’re joining me. I’d appreciate it. Good luck!

